Burglary convictions in New Jersey are indictable (felony) offenses. They are charged as either third-degree offenses under N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2(a) or second-degree offenses under N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2(b). Most burglary charges, however, will be charged in the third-degree, unless the offense involved injuries or a deadly weapon, in which case it may be charged as a second-degree offense. If you were convicted of either second or third degree burglary in New Jersey, you will be eligible for expungement so long as you meet each of the following requirements:
- You have not been convicted of any other felony offenses on a prior or subsequent occasion;
- You have no more than 2 disorderly persons convictions (misdemeanors) total on your record; and
- It has been at least 10 years since you finished your sentence for the burglary conviction. You may, however, be eligible to apply for an “early pathway” expungement so long as it has been at least 5 years since you finished your sentence.
New Jersey Drug Court Graduates
If you have or will be graduating from a Drug Court program in New Jersey, you should know that special expungement laws may apply to your case. Click here to read about New Jersey Drug Court Expungements.
New Jersey Burglary Expungement Lawyers
If you have any questions about your burglary expungement, contact the experienced New Jersey expungement lawyers at Katherine O’Brien Law today for a free Expungement Analysis Session. At Katherine O’Brien Law, we charge a flat rate fee of only $695.00 for a basic expungement. We also offer flexible payment plans and can start working on your case for only $300.00 down. Call us today for a free Expungement Analysis at 856-832-2482 or fill out our Expungement Interview Form.